The 4-Letter-Word We Should All Say More Often

*Disclaimer: You may not want to read this while you are eating, sensitive matters related to bodily functions will be discussed. 

One thing that through my husband for a loop when we got married was how much my daughters and I talked about our poop. He just couldn’t believe that they would come and tell me about their poop or that I would ask them when was the last time they pooped if they told me their stomach was hurting. I couldn’t understand why this was weird to him. We had grown up well aware of our bowel movements.

*I was going to put the chart here, but didn’t want to disgust anyone, so, if you’re ready you can click here for resources on your toilet production.

I was in college when I began to take my digestive health personally. I was on that crazy full time work and full time school schedule. I didn’t have time to go home and cook in between classes and my job so I just grabbed what I could. As is the case in most college towns, fast greasy franken-food was all that was available.

One day I was standing by my car after class chatting with friends and was struck with the worst stomach pains ever (not counting labor). I thought it was some rouge gas but I couldn’t stand let alone drive. A friend had to drive me to the doctors office where they diagnosed me with IBS. I later learned that IBS was a “catch-all”, basically, they didn’t know what was wrong with me (or didn’t want to tell me it was my crap diet)so they just labeled it so they could treat the symptoms.

Sure, my body evacuated itself with the help of the medicine but I kept going through this same cycle of stomach pain for years. I had learned to deal with it, but I went to my mother about it and the first thing she asked me about is the food I eat. As I thought about it I remembered her stressing vegetables and drinking water.

As I learned better, I did better, and now that I am going vegan I can totally see a difference in my bowel habits. When I am eating my plants as I should and exercising I poop every time I eat. It’s a wonderfully light and airy feeling!

Your poop is not just a status marker for your diet, it can alert you to other deficiencies or overages in your eating. Whenever we have spaghetti I always make a big pot, and because spaghetti is one of my absolute FAVORITE foods ever I eat it for 2-3 days at a time, I only stop because I can see my poop is now red like the tomato sauce.

If you check this out you can compare your own stool to the charts and read the quick synopsis for each type. If you have a serious issue with your bowel habits please see a doctor immediately. If your child is complaining of stomach aches and pains ask them about their bowel habits and take a peek next time they go.

Consider the amount of sugar in their diet also. Sugar can dehydrate and will cause problems with constipation. Try the 30-minute daily walks, being active helps get the blood pumping and systems flowing. Water helps tremendously with bowel habits. If this is the beginning of you paying attention to your poop consider adding more green vegetables to your diet.

I hope this helps us begin to consider another often overlooked but very vital aspect of our health. Improving your bowel habits will do wonders for your over all well being!

Leave a comment